After a video is recorded with a mobile device, it is temporarily stored in non-accessible user storage on the Subject's phone. If you are filming through a Webcam, the files are temporarily stored in the browser’s cache.
To transfer the video from the Subject's device to the Director's OpenReel account, it must be uploaded. Once a video upload completes, it is deleted from the Subject's device. You, the Director, now have access to view or download the video right from your OpenReel account.
How To Upload Clips from Mobile Devices
You will need to initiate the upload from the Session Clips section in your Session.
Upload One Video at a Time
Underneath Session Clips, you will see a list of all the recordings created during that Session. Click on the white downward arrow located at the right side of each video recording to expand the menu for that clip.
Click on the 3 dots next to the clip that needs to be uploaded, and a pop-up menu will appear. Click Upload.
You will see an upload status bar, next to the clip, indicating the upload progress.
Once a clip has completely uploaded, you will see the status bar change to Ready. Preview the clip by clicking on the Play button. Now the file is ready for you to download and share.
Upload Multiple Videos At Once
To upload all clips in bulk, make sure that the clips are checked by selecting the Checkmark List icon, located on the to right of the Session Clips.
After selecting the Checkmark List you will then have the opportunity to select the Checkmarks to the Left each file you would like to upload.
After selecting your files, you can choose Upload All at the Checkmark list in the top right of the Session Clips
The upload process for all clips will now start and you will see the upload status bar next to each clip.
Once a clip has completely uploaded, you will see the status bar change to Ready. Preview the clip by clicking on the Play button.
Now the file is ready for you to download and share.
How To Upload Files from Webcam Devices
Webcam Subject uploads will initiate automatically. The Webcam Subject will see at the bottom of their browser screen, a pop-up notification indicating that an upload is taking place.
Once the recording is done, you will see the status bar of the upload progress. The Director needs to remain in the Session until the files have uploaded. Once the status changes to Queued or Ready the recording is ready to be downloaded.
Upload While Recording
You can record a video and upload completed videos simultaneously. This is a helpful process if the device is low on storage since already uploaded videos are deleted from the local device.